Florida Certified Nursing Assistants Licenses Renewal Requirements
Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA) are renewed by the department in two groups:
Group 1 – current license will expire at midnight, Eastern Standard Time, May 31, 2019. Licenses that expired May 31, 2017 will go null and void on June 01, 2019 if not renewed.
Group 2 – current licenses will expire at midnight, Eastern Standard Time, May 31, 2018. Licenses that expired May 31, 2016 will go null and void on June 01, 2018 if not renewed.
In order to renew the CNA license at the end of the two year renewal cycle, CNAs are required to perform nursing-related services for monetary compensation within the last 24 consecutive months in order to remain on the registry.
Licensees who fail to meet these requirements must reapply for licensure and comply with current laws and rules. Licensees who have become Null and Void or elected to Voluntarily Relinquish their CNA license must reapply for licensure and meet current requirements.
All CNAs must complete a minimum of 12 hours of in-service training each calendar year. Every 2 years, in-service training hours shall include, but are not limited to, the following areas:
- Bloodborne Pathogens, Infection Control
- Domestic Violence
- Medical Record Documentation and Legal Aspects Appropriate to Nursing Assistants
- Resident Rights
- Communication with cognitively impaired clients
- CPR skills
- Medical Error Prevention and Safety
Florida Administrative Code
Section 64B9-15.011: In-Service Training Requirements for Certified Nursing Assistants
Section 64B-11.001: Certified Nursing Assistant Certification Renewal
To Renew go to: http://floridasnursing.gov/renewals/certified-nursing-assistant/
If renewing BEFORE your license expires, your fees will be:
|Active to Active||$55.00*|
If renewing AFTER your license expires, your fees will be:
|Active to Active||$105.00* for those expired 5/31/2017|
If renewing 120 day Notified Delinquent, your fees will be:
|Active to Active||$160.00*|
*CNA’s Biennial Renewal Expiration date has been moved from December 31 to May 31. The pro-rated fee for the additional 5 months you will be licensed is included in your delinquent renewal fee. After you have been issued a May 31 expiration date you will be placed back on a two year renewal cycle.
*Pursuant to s. 456.065(3), Florida Statutes, a $5 fee to fund efforts to combat unlicensed activity will be assessed of each licensee upon initial licensure and at each renewal. This fee is included in the renewal fee.
Florida Dept. Of Health Information Line (850) 245-4444